Keeping up with the Jones’

Isn’t that an expression?

Sorry guys, but as much as I love you, I don’t reeeeeally wanna keep up with you on this one!

I was thinking back to the PHundraiser we had on November 4th; and the things that really stuck out to me. You know, the ones that surprised me.

Honestly, I don’t know why it surprised me so much that Jason Jones showed up; his sister died of this bullshit disease. At the time of the PHundraiser when he hugged me, I felt like he was giving me the biggest hug simply because he knew what I was going through and wanted to show support. Made sense, right? Except I hadn’t had time to stop and think about what I was actually going thru. At the time, I didn’t realize that what he was really giving me was what no one else could! Complete Understanding! He gave me the biggest, most genuine hug that I’ve received since finding out that my daughter has Pulmonary Hypertension – and trust me… I’ve had some amazing hugs!! But his hug was different; I believe he hugged me like that because he can honestly say that he knows what it feels like to watch someone he loves suffer and die from this horrendous disease. He hugged me so tightly because ultimately… he knows that unless a Cure is found, I’m gonna lose my daughter.

Now can I genuinely say; I’m so very sorry Jason. I didn’t know. If I had, I would have hugged you a helluva lot tighter when Candice died 💜

We are PHamily ✨

The strangest part, is that Thea, George, Mike and Mark Berdan grew up directly across the street from The Jones’. Thea took care of Jason after school for years.

Do you know how rare Pulmonary Hypertension is? Like, RIDiculously Rare! Mia is seriously a one-in-a-million shot. So the odds are that it is preeeetty much impossible that two families (who lived in such close proximity and were connected to each other looooong BEFORE they were connected to me – my sister Danielle (’74-’97) is the connecting link that brought us all know one another) would BOTH be affected by a disease as rare as PH?
#ABsoLUTELYImpossibleOdds.
I’ll just let you ponder that for a second

Jason and his girls Megan and Maddison.

I’ve always thought that Maddie (left) looks a lot like Candice and Mia looks a lot like Danielle. Jason and I share that in common, too.

Leave a Reply

